ASEE IEEE CS IEEE

FIE Steering Committee Meeting Minutes

November 8, 1996
Salt Lake City

The meeting was called to order by the Chair, Bob Herrick.

1.Copies of the By laws as approved by the Steering Committee were distributed. These will be presented to the Joint ASEE ERM/IEEE Education Society Adcom meeting later in the week.

2. Bill Sayle distributed the final report* on FIE 95. The conference had a surplus of $22,936.22 which has been distributed to the sponsoring societies.

3. There was no formal report on FIE 96.

4. Larry Shuman presented the proposed budget* for FIE 97 in Pittsburgh. There was a discussion of the projected attendance, publications, and several other items.

5. Don Evans presented plans* for FIE 98 in Phoenix.

6. Dan Budny presented a proposal* for FIE 99 in San Juan, PR. Discussion centered on the cost to attend the conference and on opportunities to interact with faculty and students of Puerto Rican universities. Marion Hagler moved that the proposal be accepted with the conference date of November 12-14, 1999. Jerry Engel seconded the motion. The vote for acceptance was 8-0.

7. Informal comments on FIE 00 (2000) in Kansas City were given by Dave Soldan based on information provided by Jim Roberts.

8. Dave Soldan gave a report on the Youth Forum in Computer Science and Engineering Taskforce. He will work with program committees that want to integrate YUFORIC into FIE.

9. Bob Herrick announced the start of a project to produce an FIE Conference Planning document. He and Dave Soldan will work with past and future program committees in the development of this document.

10. There being no other business, the meeting was adjourned. The next meeting will be on Sunday, June 15, 1997 at ASEE in Milwaukee.

*Paper copies were distributed at the meeting. Steering Committee members that need copies should contact soldan@eece.ksu.edu

Attendee List

Name Phone E-mail
Bob Herrick* 317-494-7484 r.herrick@ieee.org
Dave Kerns* 615-322-3479 kerns@vuse.vanderbilt.edu
Mark A. Yoder 812-877-8291 mark.yoder@rose-hulman.edu
Dan Moore 812-877-8110 daniel.j.moore@rose-hulman.edu
Dave Voltmer 812-877-8289 voltmer@rose-hulman.edu
Jim Demetry* 508-831-5310 jdemetry@ee.wpi.edu
Gerald Engel* 203-322-3466 g.engel@compmail.com
David L. Soldan* 913-532-5534 soldan@ksu.edu
Jim Jones 317-494-9614 jonesjd@ecn.purdue.edu
Larry G. Richards 804-924-3191 lgr@virginia.edu
Karl Smith 612-625-0305 ksmith@tc.umn.edu
Mario J. Gonzalez 512-499-4207 mgonzalez@utsystem.edu
Bill Sayle 404-894-4740 bill.sayle@ee.gatech.edu
Marion Hagler* 806-742-2396 m.hagler@ieee.org
Don Evans 602-965-5350 devans@asu.edu
Ron Hoelzeman 412-624-9676 hoelzeman@ee.pitt.edu
Steve Seidman* 970-491-5862 seidman@cs.colostate.edu
Dick Culver* 607-777-2880 rculver@binghamton.edu
Alisha Waller 612-927-6585 waller@macalester.edu
Tim Skvarenina 317-494-7493 tskvaren@purdue.edu
Burks Oakley 217-333-3077 b-oakley@uiuc.edu
Cindy Atman 412-624-9836 atman@engrng.pitt.edu
Dan Budny 317-494-7722 budny@ecn.purdue.edu
Tony Rodriguez 602-965-3712 ar@asu.edu
*voting member

Return to FIE Home Page

FIE Clearing House / Last Revised 5/29/97